Wow, it’s been awhile, huh?

I figured I ought to post an update since so many of you have (quite literally) invested in my adventures. Simply put, it’s been an insane eight months. While my three months in France were amazing, the last five have been just as good.

I lived in the DC area for a little over a month, where I learned that just because I think I deserve a job doesn’t mean I’ll get it. I learned that the retail world and I absolutely DO NOT mix. I learned that I need autonomy and responsibilities when it comes to a job. I also realized that not every city is the same. What I thought I wanted after Paris was not what I got in this move, but I did get to experience that weird, sprawling faux-city environment. I was also given the chance to meet some amazing folks on my drive back up the East coast.

In May I moved back to Levant, and I’ve been living with my grandmother since then, in the in-law apartment underneath her house. Job hunting was tough, but being home let me reconnect with family and my hometown. I forgot how much I actually do like smalltown life sometimes. Living here in the summer is fantastic, and I’m looking forward to things like Old Home Days and apple picking at Treworgy’s.

At the end of May, I was Vegas-bound. It was a long trip, starting in Bangor, flying to DC, a train to Philadelphia, and another plane to Vegas. It was ridiculously hot out there, but really neat. The BlueMan Group and Cirque du Soleil were the highlights of Vegas for me. There was also a side adventure out through Arizona and Utah, which were actually my favorite parts of the entire trip. I could have skipped Las Vegas entirely, but shhh… don’t tell. I also got to drive all the way from Nevada through Arizona and into Utah, about six hours each way, through desert, crazy mountains, Dixie National Forest, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park. Missing those red rocks right now!

11265279_10207154180752413_5028058426286311632_n  11017035_10207154336636310_4093885057162930533_n11707506_10207154172952218_7852705730411540589_n

June was a month of back-and-forth up and down the East Coast, visiting friends in New Jersey. I can now get myself down to New York and into New Jersey without the use of a GPS, and not just one way either! 🙂 This month I also had an incredibly intimidating interview at Husson, in front of a board of seven trustees, the assistant dean, and several other upper-level managment members. While I thought the interview went well, in retrospect I’m thankful that job didn’t work out. I’m still very thankful for the interview, however; I feel as though it better prepared me for the following one.

The beginning of July was spent in Canada with Nan and Logan. We drove out through Jackman, into Quebec City (where you should NOT go on a Sunday morning for brunch, just FYI), down through Montreal and Toronto in absolutely BONKERS traffic. Our planned 12 hour drive ended up being nearly 17 hours long, but as we arrived in Niagara Falls the weekly fireworks were going off… what a welcome! We explored the city (if you can really call it that), saw a ton of cool attractions, rode a giant ferris wheel in glass-sided gondolas, and rode a boat out into the falls, where we got entirely soaked!
The vacation was a blast, but it had to be cut short so that I could come back home for my next interview, at Job Corps. Thankfully this position was offered to me THE VERY SAME DAY that I interviewed! After signing paperwork, it seems like time has absolutely flown by. I can’t believe I’ve been there nearly a month already! I am so incredibly thankful for this job… I really hope I can make a career out of it. I have fantastic benefits, great pay, and I love the work that I get to do. Not only do I get to work with students, but I have a hand in so many areas of the campus that every day is different.

For some reason I take a lot of pride in having driven through a bunch of different places. Re-reading this post I realize how many places I’ve managed to see while behind the wheel this summer: Las Vegas/Nevada, Arizona, Utah, Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, all of New England, Quebec, Toronto, Montreal, Niagara Falls… It makes me incredibly happy! I hope to continue travelling, whether it be across the nation or across the world. But for right now, it’s time to bunker down and start saving and making a life for myself. Thankfully I have a job I love, amazing people in my life, and a supportive family who always take care of me when my adventures leave me a little broke 😉

4 thoughts on “Wow, it’s been awhile, huh?

  1. Kelsey I love your story. You have a gift for writing. I,m glad you got a job you love..Those are hard to come by. Good luck in your future adventures,,

    Like

  2. I am so glad you had the amazing summer you describe. The Job Corps gig sounds wonderful and, as usual, you have your head in the right place. You will be amazing and they will love everything you do. Keep up the great work, fantastic adventures, and thoughtful updates. I, for one, need to live vicaripusly through others as school comtinues to dominate my life for the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

