Momentary love

People talk about love as if it’s never-ending. Once you’re in love, you’ll always love that person to some degree. Love is a long-term investment in the eyes of many, if not most. I disagree.


I loved Amine for a weekend. I loved Zak for two weeks. I loved Neil for a year. I loved Velvet for a decade. I still love Nick.


Love is no less important, no less transforming, and certainly no less real whether it lasts forever or just a few days. In some of these cases I knew our time together was short, that we wouldn’t be together forever… but I gave my whole self over to the experience of loving another person for however long we had together.


I have a tattoo on my arm that says “Take my hand, take my whole life too” from an Elvis song. This is genuinely the way I love. I don’t half-ass it. I don’t hold back. I don’t reserve parts of myself for the ‘just in case this doesn’t work out’ scenario. If I love you, I give all of myself to you.


There is nothing wrong with loving someone momentarily. Life is made of moments. Certainly loving this way may open the door to some potential pain, but you can’t go through life being afraid of a broken heart. Give yourself to other people… I’ve learned that the more deeply I love others, the more I love myself.

Leave a Reply

